We are currently experiencing an issue with Email verification at this time and working towards a solution. Should you encounter this issue, please click on the "Send Verification Button" a second time and the request should go through. If the issue still persists for you, please email support@alteryx.com for assistance.

Alteryx Server Ideas

Share your Server product ideas - we're listening!
Submitting an Idea?

Be sure to review our Idea Submission Guidelines for more information!

Submission Guidelines

allow save as to overwrite existing workflow with the same name

It would be great if you could overwrite an existing workflow when saving to the gallery from designer. It could be a simple popup with a yes/no option to overwrite/save a new copy. Currently, you would have to

 

1) Save your workflow to the Gallery.

2) Click on ok and be taken to that workflow.

3) Go back to your private studio.

4) Search for the app you want to replace.

5) Realize you have 7 copies of the same workflow with the same name and try to determine which one you want to replace. (this could just be a "me" problem)

6) Select that app

7) Click on replace workflow.

😎 type the name of the workflow in the box.

9) Look through your list of 7 workflows and choose the one that was just uploaded. Usually the first in the list I think.

10) Lament that it took way too many steps.

 

I recognize that you can open workflows from the gallery in designer which does allow overwriting, but I've run into issues with 1) external dependencies not working as expected (ie packaged assets don't quite work the way I want) and 2) about half the time it will simply give you root errors and then your only option is to save to a folder and then go through the process above.

12 Comments
SeanAdams
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

This is a constant challenge for any group that uses server - you end up with an explosion of different versions of the same canvas, with the same name and same author - it's a real ache to try to clean this up periodically.

 

Fully agree @patrick_digan 

mbarone
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

100% with you @patrick_digan on this one!!!  Huge pain point.

Kenda
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

This would be awesome!

Joe_Lipski
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Haha this always happens when building custom macros, but shouldn't be in the macros within the product!

 

The pop-up asking if you want to overwrite or create a new version would work perfectly

Hollingsworth
11 - Bolide
11 - Bolide

This is needed.

JustinLine
7 - Meteor

Agreed with everyone, we are new to Server and this is a challenge!

KylieF
Alteryx Community Team
Alteryx Community Team

Thank you for the feedback!

 

It's awesome to see so much support so early on an idea. It helps our product team a lot knowing where the pain points for users are so we appreciate the insight.

ToddNT
7 - Meteor

Plus 1 to this idea!!! 🙂

Joe_Lipski
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Very similar, if not identical to this idea here: https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Server-Ideas/Enforce-or-at-least-warn-for-duplicate-workflo...

 

@CristonS - It would be great to combine the two to increase the like count to hopefully get more visibility

 

...Albeit the other one is already under review :)...

 

Sadly from 2019 😞 ...

CatheyH
7 - Meteor

Plus 1 from me too.

We do a lot of development locally to reduce the amount of time we have to spend on the VPN(!) whilst working from home. Not being able to do this is exactly the reason we haven't migrated our schedules to Gallery.

In the older version you can go into the schedules and "pick up" the local file to replace the existing one and it seems very inefficient not to be able to do this in Gallery.

 

There is also this thread from 2015 which was solved by the "replace workflow" function, but if you read through the comments, many of them were looking for this solution.

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Server-Ideas/Overwrite-Existing-Gallery-Workflow/idi-p/6430...

 

Screenshot 2021-05-20 153818.jpg