Alteryx Server Ideas

Share your Server product ideas - we're listening!
Submitting an Idea?

Be sure to review our Idea Submission Guidelines for more information!

Submission Guidelines

allow save as to overwrite existing workflow with the same name

It would be great if you could overwrite an existing workflow when saving to the gallery from designer. It could be a simple popup with a yes/no option to overwrite/save a new copy. Currently, you would have to

 

1) Save your workflow to the Gallery.

2) Click on ok and be taken to that workflow.

3) Go back to your private studio.

4) Search for the app you want to replace.

5) Realize you have 7 copies of the same workflow with the same name and try to determine which one you want to replace. (this could just be a "me" problem)

6) Select that app

7) Click on replace workflow.

😎 type the name of the workflow in the box.

9) Look through your list of 7 workflows and choose the one that was just uploaded. Usually the first in the list I think.

10) Lament that it took way too many steps.

 

I recognize that you can open workflows from the gallery in designer which does allow overwriting, but I've run into issues with 1) external dependencies not working as expected (ie packaged assets don't quite work the way I want) and 2) about half the time it will simply give you root errors and then your only option is to save to a folder and then go through the process above.

31 Comments
marcusfin
5 - Atom

Just updated to the new server, and still not available that I know of.

 

I know how to open from the gallery and then have it save over, but this would be a huge help! Examples of why I want this feature.

 

Example 1: I am working on a workflow that I opened from the gallery. All is going well. I save it, take a lunch, then come back to work on it. After adding a new section to my workflow and modifying 5 sections, my computer crashes. Luckily, Alteryx autosaves. Sadly, that autosave file cannot be saved over the file on the gallery.

 

Example 2: Working on production analytic app with a colleague. You have a dev file you are testing some stuff on, but once testing is done, you can't just save over the existing gallery file. Not sure what other options there are here.