Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Location Data Knowledge Base

Data methodologies, and Release schedules.

An Easier Way to Get Point Zip Codes to Show Up in Alteryx (Allocate Geographies)

mbarone
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula
Created

If you’re familiar with the process to get zip points to show up in Alteryx, then no doubt you know the frustrations of clicking through multiple Allocate registration windows and navigating to multiple deeply embedded data VGF files.  It’s painful, and you might ask why there isn’t a simple option to register these point geographies with the regular install.  Well, turns out there actually is a decent reason that has to do with how data is allocated to point geometries versus polygon geometries.  I’m not a spatial expert, and don’t pretend to be, so I’ll leave it at that.  But I do know that when we look at the data allocated to these points; we need to take it with the proverbial grain of salt. 

Think of it this way, a zip point is often a main post office with hundreds of PO boxes:

mbarone_0-1648750116328.png

If a retail trade business has their legal zip code as that zip point location (i.e., a po box in that building), and their actual physical building 10 miles away, where do they get counted as a retail trade business?  If looking within a mile of that post office (the building with all the po boxes) for retail trade businesses, you will get them since they are retail trade, and their zip is that building, and that building is certainly within a mile of itself.  But in reality, they are located 9 miles away.