Engine Works

Under the hood of Alteryx: tips, tricks and how-tos.
MeganBowers
Alteryx Community Team
Alteryx Community Team

This is the second article in the Reporting in Alteryx series. You can read the first article on how to generate a PowerPoint in Alteryx here.

I’m back with another Alteryx reporting tools use case—this time, it’s PDFs! And lots of them.

Generating a single PDF in Alteryx is a nice feature. But using the batching capability of the Report tool and generating 100 different PDFs is an awesome feature.

Source: GIPHY

When I was a data analyst, my team used the tools in this workflow (along with the interactive chart tool) to generate 150+ PDFs—one for each manufacturing plant location with their monthly KPI data. They needed to all be separate files because each plant manager would print out their charts and post them to a board in the plant for a lean manufacturing initiative.  

I enjoyed working on that use case, but I thought I would try something slightly different with this workflow. I wanted to showcase the Report Map tool, so I needed some example spatial data.

For this article, I will be using data scraped from Movinga about the top cities in the world for raising a family (from 2019). My goal is to create reports for each city with a simple map view and statistics so we can easily see the city location & compare statistics between different options. After that, I want to create a map with the top 20 cities and a legend indicating their rank so we can visualize the best options at once.

Let’s dive in.

The Tools

No surprise, the Reporting tools are the backbone of my workflow. Here are the Reporting tools I used (which I did not cover in the last article):

Table

MeganDibble_0-1664394200481.png