Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Dev Space

Customize and extend the power of Alteryx with SDKs, APIs, custom tools, and more.
SOLVED

HTML SDK - Password persistency w/out Widgets

Coxta45
11 - Bolide

I'm working on building a new version of the JIRA connector using the HTML/JavaScript SDK.  I've run into an issue with persistency on a SimpleString password data-item.  While the widgets are fine, I'm a web developer at heart and am enjoying being able to use a light build of my favorite front-end framework to design the UI for the connector (having this capability is by far my favorite part of the new SDK at this point).

Ok, so here is the problem.  Without using the widgets, you can't make use of the nifty bindDataItemToWidget function within the manager class...which means you're responsible for handling the data persistency between the XML config and the UI on your own.  This only causing me issues when I'm handling a SimpleString of the password type.  Without specifying the data type as password, the persistency is a piece of cake.  However, the password is stored in plain sight, unencrypted, right there in the XML.  If I do specify the SimpleString as a password, then I lose the password on it's way back to the UI (Alteryx.Gui.AfterLoad) from it's encrypted format in the XML.  I feel like I am missing something...Is the password encryption one way?  Is there a decryption helper function that I'm missing?  Here's what I've got so far...

HTML Markup (input fields)

<!-- Site URL -->
<div class="field">
  <label for="siteUrl">Site URL</label>
  <input placeholder="https://example.atlassian.net" id="siteUrl" name="siteUrl" type="text">
</div>

<!-- Username or Email -->
<div class="field">
  <label for="userName">Username or Email</label>
  <input placeholder="your.username" id="userName" name="userName" type="text">
</div>