Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Data Science

Machine learning & data science for beginners and experts alike.
nlane
Alteryx
Alteryx

As we kick off the new year 2022, many will make the conscious effort to start living healthier. This usually is composed of trying new exercise programs, focusing on mental health, and watching what you eat. To help with the latter, here is an Alteryx workflow and annotation template to help you identify exactly how much sugar, fat, and calories are in the food you’re eating. Disclaimer: I am not a doctor and would advise you consult with one before making any drastic changes to your diet. This article is just for fun and is not meant to influence your eating patterns, instead I hope it inspires you to make more Alteryx workflows.

gif.gif

Annotating a Nutrition Label

If you are in the US, I bet you’ve seen the “Nutrition Facts” label found on food packaging. Many foods that are covered by the FDA are required to have this iconic label to help consumers make educated decisions about what to eat.

Standard “Nutrition Facts” labelStandard “Nutrition Facts” label

Because this format is standardized, it’s a perfect use case to implement the Image Template tool from the Alteryx Intelligence Suite (to learn more about how to use these tools you can take the Intelligence Suite Learning Path). I’ve split up the nutrition facts label into three sections: header, calories, and daily values. Now with this template, I can process multiple nutrition facts labels and split them up by these sections.

Image Template tool annotations for nutrition facts labelImage Template tool annotations for nutrition facts label

Extracting the Text