Join the Alteryx Community’s Maveryx Summer Cup event! Compete, network with others, and earn your gold through a series of challenges from July 24th to August 11th. Learn more about the event here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Trying find similarities then graph a representation

Astraithious
7 - Meteor

Hello! I am new to alteryx and have been getting some amazing help here so I figured I would ask for some more.

I am now using some data from a video game I used to play as I wanted to see the inner workings and how things work. 

Essentially players control a character and that character has an ID called "GUID" and tied to it are various spells and abilities. 

I created a list of every GUID and then the spells and abilities tied to it now I want to group them up by the GUID to show everything they have then compare each one of the GUIDS to an another to see how similar they are.

My vision was to be able to see how similar GUID picks are to one another which is different than taking the entire population of unique GUID then simply counting up how many each spell was taken saying x people took y which is z% of the total pop. 

I have never done it before but i guess the closest thing is like making each GUID a fingerprint then matching it against another to see what matches and what doesn't but do that for all of them to see how much similarity there is. 

I might be dreaming though for what can be achieved however if anybody could steer me in the right direction that would be amazing, thank you for your time

6 REPLIES 6
SeanAdams
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Interesting challenge @Astraithious,

What I've done is to build a very simple similarity score which is essentially "What portion of the the spells match, and what portion don't"