Join the Alteryx Community’s Maveryx Summer Cup event! Compete, network with others, and earn your gold through a series of challenges from July 24th to August 11th. Learn more about the event here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Summarize a table results in percentages

federicohernandezd
6 - Meteoroid

Hi, I'm quite new to Alteryx and have to do a report about a survey by using the software.

I'm not sure of how to summarize the data based on the answers. 

Some Context:

For each question the answer goes from 0 to 10, if the value is between 0 and 6 is categorized as "BAD", if its 7 or 8 "REGULAR" and if its 9 or 10 "GOOD"

Survey IDQuestion 1Question 2

With the Formula option I created a new table with the correct label using "IF THEN ELSEIF ELSE END"

Survey IDQuestion 1StatusQuestion 2Status
00016Bad10Good
000210Good9Good
00032Bad7Regular
00047Regular5Bad

Now I need to summarize the results for each question using percentages. Eg. For the Question 1, 50 % is "Bad", 25 % is "Good" and 25 % "Regular".

Which tool should I used? I tried summarize and failed... hopefully i explained myself.  Thanks 🙂

8 REPLIES 8
echuong1
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Two methods I would suggest:

Use the same method you used to assign the Good, Bad, and Regular values. Use a conditional formula to add in the numeric values.

Have a table with the corresponding numbers, and use a join.

echuong1_0-1615499410626.png

AngelosPachis
16 - Nebula

Hi @federicohernandezd ,

I think you should first try to restructure your data so you have your data extending vertically and not horizontally. That means, having a single column for survey ID, a single column for the question ID and the answer in that question (1-10) and then the flag of whether it's good or bad. I believe that will help you process the data now but also in the future.

AngelosPachis_0-1615499665826.png