Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Creating a list of all excel sheets in a directory

carrera
5 - Atom

Hi all,

I am a total newbie in Alteryx Designer and need your help. I would like to create a list with all sheets of excel files from a directory. I am not interested in the content of the sheets (yet). I just want a list in the form:

RecordSheet NamesPath
1Sheet 1...\file1.xlsx|||'Sheet 1$'
2Sheet 2...\file1.xlsx|||'Sheet 2$'
3Sheet 3...\file1.xlsx|||'Sheet 3$'
4Sheet 1...\file2.xlsx|||'Sheet 1$'
5Sheet 2...\file2.xlsx|||'Sheet 2$'
6Sheet 1...\file3.xlsx|||'Sheet 1$'
7Sheet 1...\file4.xlsx|||'Sheet 1$'

I tried a batch macro for this: Read in Multiple Excel Files, with Multiple Tabs that have Different Schemas (alteryx.com) but omitted the second part (macro), since I don't want to open the sheets.

Unfortunately, this does not work as desired. Does anyone have an idea how to solve this?

13 REPLIES 13
JoshuaB
Alteryx Product Evangelist
Alteryx Product Evangelist

Yes. Yes, and This is correct @apathetichell  ;) Just don't want users to jump to a batch macro IF it's not necessary ;) 

Joshua Burkhow | Chief Evangelist @ Alteryx | Follow me on LinkedIn and Twitter
vbmike73
7 - Meteor

But I'm not interested in the content of the sheets. I only want a list of the sheet names from each file. However, it seems that if the files are different, I get the schema error. This method only appears to work for Excel files with the same types of sheets maybe? What's odd is that if I take the same file, and make copies of it while adding different sheets to each file, this method will work. Can't figure this out.

apathetichell
18 - Pollux