Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Connect to API using Client ID and Client Secret and Parameters

shashibhushan86
6 - Meteoroid

Dear Experts,

I am new to Alteryx and this is my first question here.

My organization has a data source on Azure Table storage Platform and I have been tasked to pull this data for the analysis purpose. The IT team has developed an api for me and the api documentation is like this:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GET DATA in CSV

https://api.organizationxyz.com/products/:product_code/regions?start_dt=2020-07-09T00:00:00%2B08:00&...

HEADERS
client_id     abcdefghijkl12345
client_secret     xyz98764123
Content-Type     text/csv
PARAMS
start_dt     2020-07-09T00:00:00%2B08:00
end_dt      2020-07-09T23:59:59%2B08:00
PATH VARIABLES
product_code     chairs

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have searched so many places but cannot find any example which is connecting to an api source like this. For example most of the examples only cover the apis with no authentication and have never seen any example covering the Client ID and Client Secret for authentication.

Kindly help me get this data via Alteryx designer. I have an Idea that text input and Download tools will be used.

My approach was:

Put the URL in the text input tool and connect with download. I added the Client ID and Secret in the header section of download tool however this results in an error "Error: Download (8): Error transferring data: Couldn't connect to server"

I dont know how to test it. Any help would be appreciated.