Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Cannot convert V_WString to Date/Time

AttilaBalint
6 - Meteoroid

Hello,

I'm quite new to Alteryx and could not figure this one out yet despite checking the forum.

So, I have this data which looks like this in the csv file:

AttilaBalint_0-1678814350614.png

This column is deemed V_WString in Alteryx and if I change it to Date with the select tool, it will give the message that it is not a valid date.
So I tried to convert it using the DateTime tool but whatever I write unde custom, I get the below warning:

AttilaBalint_1-1678814597904.png

I would need to be able to set the column to date format as I need to filter it for the current month but since I can't, the filtering formula does not work.

So the question is, do any of you know a way to change this data to date or a way to filter the String so it will give me the current month only. In excel I could work this out by using a formula which includes a current month function converted to text (I could get the JAN, FEB, MAR, etc part) and use that as a "contain" filter option but I have no idea how to do it in Alteryx

Thanks in advance for you help.

12 REPLIES 12
AttilaBalint
6 - Meteoroid

Yes, it worked very nicely, thank a lot. :) 

Is there maybe a way to avoid this manual clicking? There will be 3 more sheets on the file and it would be awesome if this could be done automatically somehow.

AttilaBalint
6 - Meteoroid

Hehe, well, I was expecting that. :D

They are indeed separate flows and the only common thing is that they will go to the same excel file at the end. I was just hoping there is a way to cram all into one flow with one single click to run it but I kinda new this will not work. :D

Thank you very much for making my very first Alteryx automation fun and rewarding!