Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Cannot convert V_WString to Date/Time

AttilaBalint
6 - Meteoroid

Hello,

I'm quite new to Alteryx and could not figure this one out yet despite checking the forum.

So, I have this data which looks like this in the csv file:

AttilaBalint_0-1678814350614.png

This column is deemed V_WString in Alteryx and if I change it to Date with the select tool, it will give the message that it is not a valid date.
So I tried to convert it using the DateTime tool but whatever I write unde custom, I get the below warning:

AttilaBalint_1-1678814597904.png

I would need to be able to set the column to date format as I need to filter it for the current month but since I can't, the filtering formula does not work.

So the question is, do any of you know a way to change this data to date or a way to filter the String so it will give me the current month only. In excel I could work this out by using a formula which includes a current month function converted to text (I could get the JAN, FEB, MAR, etc part) and use that as a "contain" filter option but I have no idea how to do it in Alteryx

Thanks in advance for you help.

12 REPLIES 12
BS_THE_ANALYST
14 - Magnetar

@AttilaBalint
Here's one way using the DateTime tool:

BS_THE_ANALYST_0-1678815979206.png

BS_THE_ANALYST
14 - Magnetar

@AttilaBalint This might also be useful for you (further steps).

I've given two solution routes, (method 1) I think you might take this step but it involves hard coding. Method 2, is more dynamic, using the DateTimeToday() function and extracting the year and month from it. Then extracting the Year and Month from the hire_dates. Then filtering for the ones that match:

BS_THE_ANALYST_0-1678816443140.png

Have a look through them! Any questions, let me know. 
BS

AttilaBalint
6 - Meteoroid

Thank you very much!