Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Batch Macro - write to Sharepoint list in batches

nenkler
5 - Atom

Hi Community,
This is my very first post and I'm quite new to Alteryx so please bare with me if this was answered before.

I know batch macros have been discussed back and forth here but I haven't been able to get this to work alone and by studying the discussion in the community, it might be quite easy, though.

I'm having a dataset of about 800 items which need to be written to a Sharepoint list using the Sharepoint Output tool.
This works from time to time but I often get timeouts and errors from the Sharepoint tool, I assume mainly because of the slow Sharepoint API.
In order to circumvent this problem I try to split the rite to the Sharepoint list into batches. I therefore tried the following.

Input = 800 items to be written to a Sharepoint list
Add a Record ID to get unique records for each items
Add a formula tool able to split into batches of 100 by adding a batch column with this formula: "CEIL([RecordID]/100)"
Feed this into a batch macro with "batch" as the control parameter. Batch has numbers from 1-8 associated to the 800 items.
Macro: I try to use the unique tool to split the input based on the batch column but I'm failing.

I guess I'm doing something quite basic wrong, maybe the "Control GroupBy" which I used the batch column for.

2024-06-11_17-41-40.png

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks and best regards,

Nils

3 REPLIES 3
Raj
15 - Aurora

@nenkler 
why is unique tool used should it not be a filter tool based on your requirement

nenkler
5 - Atom

Hi Raj,

Yes indeed I now used a filter tool like this.