Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alter.Nation

Community news, customer stories, and more!
andyuttley
11 - Bolide
11 - Bolide

Reflecting on a recent podcast, I began wondering whether it’s possible to do good without being good. This came after a podcast I was listening to referenced the popular Greek proverb:

Society grows great when people plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.

I get it, I’ve sat in the proverbial shade of the proverbial trees planted by society before me, so now it’s my time to get planting, even though I’ll never get to see those trees grow. I know, the trees and the shade here are proverbial, it’s a metaphor. But sometimes life is literal; I found this out the hard way during a recent team away day, where I discovered that planting non-proverbial trees (or trees, as some people call them) is a skill I’m not good at. I’m awful at it; no one will sit in the shade of a tree I’ve planted because I’m terrible at gardening.

Digging a Hole

Like many companies, mine offers a great scheme that allows you to ringfence X days each year for outreach / social-good work. The reality for many companies is that these days don’t always get used: people either don’t know they have this perk, don’t make time to use them, or can’t find the right project to work on (more on this later). During this recent team away day, we were sent to a local park in London to help with its renovation. It was a fantastic project and initiative. We’ve since seen the fruits of our ‘labour’ (amongst hundreds of hours from other volunteers), as the park re-launched last month with new areas for plants to grow and children to play. Seeing the park’s brilliant transformation was great, but it didn’t feel fair to feel any responsibility for its success, after being almost useless throughout our day there.