Welcome to the new SparkED Group Hub. Before you get started, check out our new program overview video

HasanHb
Alteryx
Alteryx

Sparked_Hasan Hboubati_ImpactStory_Social_1024x512.png

I’m an Alteryx sales engineering manager who also teaches a course called Business Applications of Data Science at the University of California, Irvine extension campus. I often notice that my students who are new to the data analytics field arrive with a feeling of uncertainty about the topic.

Perhaps due to a lack of exposure to the field, or a lack of belief in themselves, many doubt their fit for a job role in our data-driven business world. They worry that data analytics will require them to do a ton of math or be really good with databases.

But I emphasize for all my students that data analytics is a team sport with lots of roles. You have someone who prepares the data, you have a data engineer, you have someone who’s really good at visualization, and another who’s good at ETL (extract-transform-load).

I tell them that at Alteryx, we like to say you don’t have to be a data scientist to have data breakthroughs. And you can actually see their eyes opening up to the possibilities.

It’s awesome to equip these students with basic data skills, some hands-on experience, and show them how to find the golden nuggets – it makes them feel powerful. These same students tend to leave the course with enough confidence to take on the world.

My course is the first in UC Irvine’s certificate program for data analytics. It focuses on the practical applications—the near-infinite number of use cases where data can be used to generate insights or solve difficult business challenges.

For example, how can an oil and gas company use data to prevent an oil rig accident? Can a bakery reduce bread waste with a camera mounted on a conveyor belt? And how might data be used to help doctors predict the likelihood of diabetes and high blood pressure?