Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Dev Space

Customize and extend the power of Alteryx with SDKs, APIs, custom tools, and more.

Interactive 3rd Party API

StephenXGraham
5 - Atom

Hi - I'm a complete Alteryx novice, so please be gentle with me! I'm probably asking a question that beginners ask all the time, apologies in advance.

We have third party API, and we currently use a Perl script to talk to the API and download data on a daily basis. We would like to see if we can move away from the script and have everything done within Alteryx. The API doc is:

https://docs.openathens.net/display/public/MD/Fetching+statistics+reports+via+the+API

It is RESTful, but where it differs is that the first endpoint call generates a task to start running on the server. It returns two bits of info - a status value i.e. RUNNING, and a new URL. The new URL is the url to check if the taks has finished. In the Perl script we usually sleep for 20 seconds before calling the URL, and we sleep 20 seconds between every call until the task has completed. Once it has completed the status value changes to FINSHED and we get a URL to download the actual data. The data comes down in CSV format.

Can this sort of interactive session be done in Alteryx?

cheers, Stephen

2 REPLIES 2
jamielaird
14 - Magnetar

Hi @StephenXGraham ,

Great question. You can achieve this using an Iterative Macro, the logic for which will be as follows:

LoopingAPICall.png

You can implement this type of workflow in Alteryx using an Iterative Macro.

I've packaged up an example workflow which does the following:

1. Waits 2 seconds
  2. Calls the WorldDateTime API
  3. Checks if the seconds of the returned time is between 00 and 29
  4. If yes, end
  5. If no, goto step 1