Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Server Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Server.
SOLVED

Which database should I use for Alteryx Server?

sagar_agarwal
8 - Asteroid

Hello All,

I'm new to Alteryx and have recently got an Alteryx Server license and I was reading the documentation when I learned that it comes pre-packaged with MongoDB & SQLite for data storage/persistence options. However, I believe I have different needs to address when it comes to choosing a database. Below are few of my needs:

1. I have both types of data - flat (relational) as well as JSON format.

2. Need to have a Tableau native connection. Currently, Tableau does not have a native connection to MongoDB (it is via the MongoDB BI connector, but I cant use it as of now)

3. Dataset size would be about 2 billion rows currently, and growing at about 20mn rows per month.

4. Updating a particular datapoint will be very less; once the data is prepared and stored, it will be mostly querying and joining with other datasets.

5. Preferably opensource.

I shortlisted PostGreSQL after reading several forums; but I am not sure if its possible or the right one. I want to know if I can use a different database for my Alteryx Server needs (and not use MongoDB/SQLite)? Can I expect the same level of performance with other databases as I would expect with MongoDB/SQLite.

4 REPLIES 4
MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

I would use Mongo. The use of Mongo doesn't preclude you from installing another RDBMS on the server for your other needs.

Cheers,

Mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and restart. Order shall return.
Please Subscribe to my youTube channel.
sagar_agarwal
8 - Asteroid