Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Regex replace cases - translation help

pociechtoa
5 - Atom

Hi everyone

I am quite new to alteryx and I have an existing workflow (built by someone else) which uses regex_replace in a couple of instances. Even though I viewed the Regex 101 and the Regex Coach, I still fail to grasp what the individual characters do and, most importantly, how to fix errors which occur sometimes. 

Long story short, I have a couple of fields which contain city and country for different events (one event can have more than once city and therefore more than one country as well). I am trying to concatenate them to get all the cities together, and all the countries together, the separator used is ;  

The formula used is trim(regex_replace([_CurrentField_],"\b(.+);\s(?=.*\b\1;?)","")) 

Errors which I found: 

1. Mexico City;Panama City 

They get concatenated to MexicoPanama City (so I assume the "City" part of Mexico is omitted as repetitive)

2. cities:  Edinburgh; Fort Lauderdale; Hong Kong; London; New York; San Mateo; Singapore; St. Petersburg; Toronto

countries: Hong Kong; United KingdomSingapore; United States; Canada

As you can see, United Kingdom and Sinapore are missing a space in between. I guess this could be because of different cities from the same country (which I do not want repeated) but I still cannot fathom why it glues together UK and Singapore, and not any of the others. 

Could someone help me translate this to layman's terms? Thank you!

I solemnly swear to analyse the answers and come out of this as a smarter human being. 

8 REPLIES 8
Jean-Balteryx
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hi @pociechtoa ,

Can you share your workflow ?

Ben_H
11 - Bolide

Hi @pociechtoa,

I couldn't replicate the United KingdomSingapore issue but I did get the same result for Mexico City; Panama City