Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Workflow not perserving formatting

jmbarc
6 - Meteoroid

Hello, I am a new alteryx designer. I have built a flow which filters an excel file based on specific criteria and then splits the results on to specific named tabs. 

The issue i am having is with the output formatting. It wont preserve the formatting despite selecting this box on the output. Is it possible to create new named tabs and have specific output formatting.

Thanks for any help in advance. 

7 REPLIES 7
cjaneczko
13 - Pulsar

Are you specifying the range to preserve the formatting? If no range is set at the end of the file path, it wont preserver the formatting even with the box checked. I cant tell from the screenshot if its specified. 

To add more tabs with the same formatting you would likely need a template to copy from when creating the new tabs. A Blob tool would solve this.

jmbarc
6 - Meteoroid

Hi, yes i have the range specified. It seems to be when renaming the tab it doesnt copy forward any formatting. Ok im not familiar with the blob tool. i will try research this. Thanks. 

tristank
11 - Bolide

Hi @jmbarc you will want to use the blob tools to maintain formatting. Essentially you will:

1. Use the blob tools to create a formatted template

2. After the template has been created output to said template

These are the resources I used to get started with blob tools. These types of workflows can be a little weird to configure (think control containers) but these blogs are super helpful. Reach out if you have any questions!

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Engine-Works/Excel-Templates-with-Blob-Tools-and-Control-Containers...

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Engine-Works/The-Blob-Reporting-That-Isn-t-From-a-Horror-Film/ba-p/...

https://lovelytics.com/blog/alteryx-tool-tip-dont-fear-the-blob/

usmanbashir
11 - Bolide