Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Webscraping from Gov.uk site

JamesGray
7 - Meteor

Hi All,

I am trying to carry out a web scraping task from this UK Govt website: https://www.applytosupply.digitalmarketplace.service.gov.uk/g-cloud/search.

I would like to create a database in essence in which for each link on the site I can search for a keyword or phrase to be able to filter the list to those which are relevant to myself.

For example all pages which contain the word SOC2.

Unfortunately I have limited web scraping experience but I believe this is an acheiveable task so I would appreciate any advice.

6 REPLIES 6
caltang
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @JamesGray,

Going through the website, what I can recommend is for you to use a Text input with the URL that you want (e.g: https://www.applytosupply.digitalmarketplace.service.gov.uk/g-cloud/search?page=3) then adding a standard macro to update the page= number to the last page. 

The download tool can be connected to the text input, then it will download the data that you want. You can then change the data to rows with the delimiter, and filter out your keyword SOC2. However, from first glance, I don't see much SOC2 at all in the first three pages. Can you provide more examples?

In addition, perhaps you can attach a drawn expected output? That will be most helpful. 

Calvin Tang
Alteryx ACE
https://www.linkedin.com/in/calvintangkw/
JamesGray
7 - Meteor

Hi @caltang,

My understand of your solution would provide the text seen on the page results.

I am looking to be able to get the text from each individual linked page. For example https://www.applytosupply.digitalmarketplace.service.gov.uk/g-cloud/services/255816056586378.

As you can see from this example there is mention of "SOC 2" on the first bullet point under Features subtitle.