Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Using Python to do base64 encode SHA 256 in Alteryx

brianvtran
7 - Meteor

Hello,

I received a request from a client who wants emails to be hashed base64 encoded SHA 256. I've tried all kinds of conversions within Alteryx with base64 encoder tool and blob converts, even trying to use formulas to convert my sha 256 into binary to be encoded base64 but it's not panning out. The client provided an example for janedoe@gmail.com but I can't match the same hash that was provided. 

I've seen some promise with Python but I'm completely new to the language. I'm trying to hash my emails using this code but it's not panning out. If I attempt to do the whole list, it will give me the attribute error where the Series object has no attribute encode or if I attempt to loop it in some way, it will say hashlib.hash is not iterable.

series object has no attribute encode.PNGhash.lib not iterable.PNG

The most I can do is reference a single element from the series, and do the hash, only one at a time but is there any way for me to be able to hash all the emails in the column? 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

6 REPLIES 6
NeilR
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)
brianvtran
7 - Meteor

Hey @NeilR 

I don't have an issue with the SHA256 part, I have some code in python and an R tool that can do the hash. My main problem is that I haven't figured out yet how to encode in base64 using python or any other means. I have tried using the base64 tools in Alteryx (base64 encoder and blob converts) but they're not returning the same results as the example given to me: 

janedoegmail.com --> 1hFzBkhe0OUK+rOshx6Y+BaZFR8wKBUn1j/18jNlbGk=

I get instead: ZDYxMTczMDY0ODVlZDBlNTBhZmFiM2FjODcxZTk4ZjgxNjk5MTUxZjMwMjgxNTI3ZDYzZmY1ZjIzMzY1NmM2OQ==