Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Union tables with different fields

sgazar
6 - Meteoroid

Hi all,

Please bear with me as I am an Alteryx novice. I will do my best to explain what I am trying to do...

I have two excel spreadsheets (let's call one File A and the other File B) . I am familiar with how to import each of them into alteryx. The two spreadsheets have some columns that are the same (columns like State, City, Business Unit #, etc.) but they also have some columns that are different. For example, the first dataset has fields like Revenue, Sales per square foot, etc. And the other spreadsheet has fields like Cost per capita, Construction costs projected, etc. You get the point. 

Business Unit # is the best identifier for the two spreadsheets, because there is only one unique business unit # per row in each file. The key here is that File A has a lot of the same business unit #'s that File B has. So there is some overlap. That, however, is fine. Ultimately, File A is my anchor file...it's the one I really want to be working with because it has all the columns I need. File B will have a bunch of the same business unit #'s as File A, but it will also have some business unit #'s that are not present in File A.