Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Unescaped Quote in CSV file

jemcconnell
5 - Atom

Hello all, 

I am a newbie (so be kind).

I have a CSV file I am importing to ServiceNow to be transformed.  The source file fails to process in ServiceNow. 

I am using Alteryx Desktop Designer (file input is CSV) and run; I can see the data fails at each row with an error (see the attached "enescpated error.jpg" image).  

My steps (I reviewed and tried ~10 forum solutions) are to find/replace the double quote and then output to CSV.

However, when the data is output back to a new CSV file, it fails to wrap a leading/ending double quote around each row, which causes issues with the expected import (see 

If I add a formula to add the double quote, I get double double quotes.

Any recommendations would be appreciated.
-john

6 REPLIES 6
apathetichell
19 - Altair

on your input data make sure you have ignore delimiter in quotes. In your output data make sure you have your quote mode set up to quote delimiters. Make sure you are using the correct delimiters - and the correct format. Also turn off AMP - and make sure you are bringing in the correct amount of characters (ie more than 255). If you still see that error- set your delimiter to \0 - use a record id - look at the problem rows and see why they are giving you issues.

jemcconnell
5 - Atom

Thank you for the quick reply.

The data is garbage. Plan and simple for sure.

File in (errors with unexcapted quote):

F1,F2,F3,F4,F5

"","1","this is, and this is 2" and >5", but not 6"","0123"

This format has the advantage that data with a comma may exist; using this suggested method, including 0 as a new delimiter, causes more errors.

File out:

F1,F2,F3,F4,F5

"",1,this is, and this is 2" and >5", but not 6",0123

I attempted both suggests and no luck but keep tying.

apathetichell
19 - Altair

did you use 0 or \0?