Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Replicate PRODUCT excel formula for select period and entire period

Mysa
6 - Meteoroid

Hi 

Please help me in replicating PRODUCT excel formula. Req1 column is Cumulative for each attribute, Req2 is Cumulative of 3 months, Req 3 is YTD Cumulative. Also attaching the excel. 

Thanks in Advance.

Req1.PNG

Req2.PNG 

Req3.PNG

8 REPLIES 8
Shifty
12 - Quasar

@Mysa 

This is now doubt a fiddly one (for me at least but I'm no expert!).  It's pretty much achievable with the Multi-Row Formula. I've attached a workflow that addresses Req1 and Req3.  I'm still working on Req2 for you!

Take a look and let me know if that does tick off Req 1 and 3 for you.

Shifty

Shifty
12 - Quasar

Hey @Mysa,

I've updated the workflow to include all three Reqs.  Let me know what you think!

Cheers,

Shifty

Mysa
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Shifty,

Thanks for the efforts. the PRODUCT formula in excel essentially does Cumulative Return, not a cumulative total. 

However your seems good. 

Also you ignored Attribute1 column the calculation should also consider AA and AB in that column seperately.

Shifty
12 - Quasar

Ahh I see what you mean, if you want Req1 to group by Attribute1 (and essentially reset for AB) then you can just check the Group by Attribute1 in the first Multi-Row Formula tool.

Mysa
6 - Meteoroid

Coming back to what PRODUCT formula does, I'm uploading breakdown of formula in a revised excel. 

Shifty
12 - Quasar

@Mysa,

There has been another post about cumulative return: https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer-Discussions/Calculation-of-cumulative-returns/td-p...

Maybe your understanding of the process together with that post will get you to the solution you're looking for.

Shifty

Shifty
12 - Quasar

Hi @Mysa,