Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Need Help Adding a row into my data Set Based on a Calculation/Logic

MitchS
5 - Atom

Hey Community, 

I am just starting out using Alteryx and need some help with a problem I have. 

I have the following columns in question: 

Material NumberCategory ValueDate

I need to be able to add a new row which is "Projected Closing Stock" for an individual material/ Month combo. The calculation for Closing Stock is = to Opening Stock on hand - Demand + Production. Where the opening stock on hand for all months (excluding August) is the closing stock from the month before. 

I have added an example workflow with the desired result. 

I would appreciate if someone could help in solving this :) 

8 REPLIES 8
Kottapally_Ramesh
7 - Meteor

Hi @MitchSewhoy 

Please see the attached workflow which will give you Projected Closing Stock & if you need to rollout the data to next month add a filter & select only "Projected Closing Stock" row to get the result.

Hope this helps.

grazitti_sapna
17 - Castor

Hi @MitchS, I have a query related to your desired output. 

grazitti_sapna_0-1656308274180.png

For the month of June 2022, you need projected closing stock= 20 which will be achieved using 

Closing Stock is = to Opening Stock on hand(closing stock of the previous month except for August) + Demand + Production

But for the month of July 2022 you need 

Closing Stock is = to Opening Stock on hand(closing stock of the previous month except for August) - Demand + Production

Are you calculating the month of June 2022 and July 2022 separately? Can you please clarify?

Thanks!

Sapna Gupta
MitchS
5 - Atom

Hey @Sapna Gupta