Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Need Help Adding a row into my data Set Based on a Calculation/Logic

MitchS
5 - Atom

Hey Community, 

I am just starting out using Alteryx and need some help with a problem I have. 

I have the following columns in question: 

Material NumberCategory ValueDate

I need to be able to add a new row which is "Projected Closing Stock" for an individual material/ Month combo. The calculation for Closing Stock is = to Opening Stock on hand - Demand + Production. Where the opening stock on hand for all months (excluding August) is the closing stock from the month before. 

I have added an example workflow with the desired result. 

I would appreciate if someone could help in solving this :) 

8 REPLIES 8
Kottapally_Ramesh
7 - Meteor

Hi @MitchSewhoy 

Please see the attached workflow which will give you Projected Closing Stock & if you need to rollout the data to next month add a filter & select only "Projected Closing Stock" row to get the result.

Hope this helps.

grazitti_sapna
17 - Castor

Hi @MitchS, I have a query related to your desired output. 

grazitti_sapna_0-1656308274180.png

For the month of June 2022, you need projected closing stock= 20 which will be achieved using 

Closing Stock is = to Opening Stock on hand(closing stock of the previous month except for August) + Demand + Production

But for the month of July 2022 you need 

Closing Stock is = to Opening Stock on hand(closing stock of the previous month except for August) - Demand + Production

Are you calculating the month of June 2022 and July 2022 separately? Can you please clarify?

Thanks!

Sapna Gupta
MitchS
5 - Atom

Hey @Sapna Gupta