Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to find multiple subheaders and convert each to columns for rows below

rdphillips
5 - Atom

I've attached an excel file with 2 sheets.

The Sample sheet contains an example of scrubbed data (trimmed heavily), in rows 2, 6, 10, 14 are all subheaders. The subheader only applies to the rows below the subheader and above the following subheader. For example subheader in row 2, only applies to rows 3-5. I'm trying to find a way to move these subheaders into a column for the applicable rows.

The Target sheet, shows what I am I'm looking for as an end result.

I'm relatively new to Alteryx, so this type of data manipulation I haven't been able to figure out. I've only been successful moving Subheader1 to a column and applying it to the entire dataset - so not quite what is needed. Appreciate any assistance.

7 REPLIES 7
aatalai
13 - Pulsar

Is there an easy way to identify the rows that relate to them? If so use a formula tool to tag them and then use the cross tab tool with the new tag column being the names you get the column from

Raj
14 - Magnetar

@rdphillips Find the solution  attachment.

DataNath
17 - Castor

Hey @rdphillips we can achieve this with a couple of tools. We do this by:

1) Using a Multi-Row Formula to pull out rows containing header values and filling them down

2) Filtering out rows with null values where we'd expect actual results

3) Rearranging to get your desired format

1212.png

Hope this helps!

rdphillips
5 - Atom