Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Finding a Match in Alteryx

johnson1
5 - Atom

I am a newbie to Alteryx and am trying some use cases from VBA in Alteryx.

We have a process that:

1. Daily I receive 50 attachments from 50 different vendors
  2. In VBA I open those 50 workbooks by Looping thru our server that has the 50 attachments
  3. Once I open the individual workbook
  4. I open a historical workbook of all previously received vendor transactions
  5. I scan all transactions from the daily workbook vs. the historical transactions
  6. If I find a match between historical and daily then I flag it as a duplicate transaction and load the transaction(s) to a 3rd workbook called Daily Transactions Received today.  If it is not a duplicate then load the transaction(s) to the Daily Transactions Received Workbook.  The Daily Transactions Received Workbook will store all transactions received today for all of the 50 vendors.
  7. I then leave OPEN the historical workbook AND the Daily Transaction workbook
  8. I then loop to  the next vendor workbook (x of 50) and repeat 3-7

Questions

#1-I am trying to determine from a Designer perspective the best approach ?  Note I do not want to have to open the Historical and Daily Transactions workbook 50 times.

#2-Also we have Alteryx Server - is it possible to save/store the Historical workbook on the server as I would like to reduce latency when grabbing and saving the files.

#3-Am I better off to use VBA or will Alteryx handle this well

2 REPLIES 2
Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@johnson1 
In order for us to give try. can you

• define the match in 'If I find a match between historical and daily'
  • Some sample inputs files would be helpful.
johnson1
5 - Atom

Hi the below would be a match

Historical File

Invoice Due Date - Dec 1 2020 - Vendor ABC - 25,000 - Tran Type - Poultry

Daily File