Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Date Conversions

rdp
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Rod,

I'm really struggling with getting my String to convert to date format when looking at http://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Knowledge-Base/Date-Conversions/ta-p/3587  When I originally connected to the data my Start Date was a string Start Date.pngwhich I then parsed out to be in their own columns parsed string.png.  

Convert String to Date.png

Then, I concatenated Month Date Year field and that looks great but I need to now convert that from a String to a Date.  I've tried using the DateTime in Parse and that did not work.  I also tried just changin the format in my Outfield Type to Date.  Either way I get NULL in the field.  This is my first time using Alteryx and I'm hoping that's why I am struggling so much with this.

I appreciate any assistance you can offer.

Renee

10 REPLIES 10
AndyM
Alteryx
Alteryx

Renee,  I suspect your problem with the DateTimeParse function is that you are not including a leading zero for the Date column.   It does require a leading zero to be able to parse correctly.  If you add leading zeroes where required so that it is always two digits, the DateTimeParse function should work.  

Alternatively, you could format your date field to the following format "2015-11-05" or "YYYY-MM-DD" as a string data type.  If your date is in this format and is a String field, you can simply change the data type from String to Date.  Again,  you will need leading zeroes on the day and month fields so that there is always two digits.

Andy 

rdp
6 - Meteoroid

Andy,

I added a leading zero here and then changed to a Date format.  Returned all NULL values.  I'm thinking that maybe this is not where I need to add the leading zero?

leading zero.png

MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

you might try