Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Create multiple excel sheets with two worksheets using one excel template

dsevilimedu
7 - Meteor

Hello all,

I have a master excel file with different department names - department 1, department 2, department 3, department 4, department 5 ............................. department 35 

I have one excel template with 2 worksheets - worksheet A, worksheet B. Worksheet A is basically a list of people starting from cell B24, and  Worksheet B has details (data dump).

The output I am looking for from Alteryx is to use this template to create 35 files with each department's data. For example Department A will have a list of employee's names in Worksheet A, starting from cell B24 and Worksheet B with the whole list of Department A. 

Can it be done? 

Thanks!

14 REPLIES 14
DavidP
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @dsevilimedu, Yes, Alteryx can definitely do this. I f you can mock up some data, we can help you

csmith11
11 - Bolide

@dsevilimedu

To get you started:

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer-Discussions/Dynamic-Output-Filename/td-p/544827

You'll want to use a dynamic file path that you can build with formula tools. 

dsevilimedu
7 - Meteor

Hello,

Thanks for helping me!

Please see attached - input and output. 

Input is basically data dump, has 4 departments

Output is the template with two sheets - the Summary worksheet is where I have formulas that connect to the Details worksheet. I want Alteryx to Output data, by department to the Details worksheet. Summary sheet automatically picks necessary data from Details.

So, there will be 4 files at the end. Each file will have two worksheets 1) Summary (where I have formulas) 2) Details (where I want Alteryx to dump data)   

I am able to achieve 95%. I am just struggling to get Alteryx to output data, by department to "Details" worksheet.