Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Block Until Done tool

KSassone
8 - Asteroid

I utilize several "Block Until Done" tools in throughout my workflow to generate an .xlsx file with eleven (11) tabs. I have been running this for 3 years with no issues. However today some of my Output Data (tabs) presented errors:

Output Data (338)
Unable to open file for write: \\**\**.xlsx - Can't open file: \\**\**.xlsx: The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process. (32)
Output Data (443)
Unable to open file for write: \\**\**.xlsx - Can't open file: \\**\**.xlsx: The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process. (32)
Output Data (173)

The file is not open. I rerun the .yxmd and while the error message is the same as above, the quantity may change (1 error; 5 errors; 3 errors), and the Output instances may change (Output Data (167), or Output Data (244)) each to a separate output. They all have Block Until Done earlier in the workflow.

This appears to me to be a timing issue.  It is as if the population of a 'tab' has not closed before the next action begins - and therefore presents with an error.

Has anyone had this timing issue with the Block Until Done tool? Any recommendations on a solution?

6 REPLIES 6
Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@KSassone 
I have not encountered this strange issue.

Just a thought, is it possible instead of Block Until Done, we can switch to the approach with using the Output tool by specifying the full path

gawa
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

@KSassone 

Writing multiple sheet in one Excel file with Block Until Done will not work properly when AMP engine is enabled. Please be sure to disable AMP engine.

Have you updated Designer to newer version recently? If so, AMP engine is enabled by default in newer version, and that should be the cause.

caltang
17 - Castor
17 - Castor