Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Add information from parts of a subtotal row to data rows above it

tavmeister
5 - Atom

I am new to Alteryx and learning the ropes. I've created basic workflows but have a situation that I don't know how to handle. I have an excel file that contains text information in subtotal rows that I need to add to data rows that appear before that subtotal row in the excel file. I'm struggling to figure out how to get information from a row BELOW one or more data rows, and add it to each data row. Another potential complication is that the excel file is a report file, and so it has a header row with a report title and page numbers, as well as a heading row (that repeats at the top of each page), that I do not want to extract into my results.

Source fileSource fileResultsResults

I have coloured the fields that make up a row the same colours. The Yellow highlighted cells in the Results screenshot are items from the subtotal row that appears below the related data rows. The Subtotal row is a single row (or to be more precise, it is a single cell), but it has 2 items I need to extract from it as 2 separate fields (salesorder and PONumber). As an explanation, the data rows 9-11 (cells Bxx to Oxx) in the Source File need to have the 2 items from cell B13 (the Total salesorder: and PO Number: items) added before each of their columns in the Results.

Row 22 is the last line on Page 1 (which is a data row), and row 23 is the first line of Page 2 (the page 2 report header line). The Subtotal for data row 22 is row 29. In between these 2 rows is a report header line and a report title line, neither of which I want to extract into my results. This is an example of how the data breaks across 2 pages of the source file/report.

I've uploaded a sample of the source and results sheets.

Can someone please help?

thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
DavidP