Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

API request, do I need to make a request using multiple parts?

Roche
8 - Asteroid

Hi everyone, 

I am new to making API requests and have tried to make a few requests for new endusers, i.e. using adress information etc,  but it was unsuccessful.  The request returned an output with no data. 

Roche_0-1652078914294.pngRoche_1-1652078945695.png

The current headers are subcategories of a different categories, e.g.  customer_data, address_data, organization_data.  I did not add these categories as an extra header, and understand thus far that the extra header can not be naturally created in Alteryx, since it will display properly only in for example a pdf output.  

What I would like to know is, in the download tool, if I should make the API request in different parts, i.e. part 1 the customer data, part 2 the organization data, part 3 the address data etc?

Thank you for helping!  

Rouche

7 REPLIES 7
FrederikE
13 - Pulsar

If you are not sure, add the URL into the Browser. What you can see there is what Alteryx will get as well. This should be depended on the API itself. 

Roche
8 - Asteroid

Hi Frederik, thank you.  Looks like the addresses do not work.

Roche
8 - Asteroid

Still have the same question about the 3 parts.  I attach an example of what the headers look like in xlsx format.  Here you will see that my data is in 3 parts.  I also find information on the APIs on this site and the data is entered differently here. 

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Promote-Knowledge-Base/Promote-Rest-API-Call/ta-p/343890

Roche_0-1652087067551.png

After the download tool I use a json parse tool.

Roche_1-1652087224118.png

Thank you, 

Rouche

apathetichell
18 - Pollux