Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

model parameters using sum square difference minimization

Josh_Metro
メテオール

I'm new to Alteryx, and I'm trying to replicate something that takes me only a few seconds to do in Excel. 

I'm try to fit a dataset to a model. In Excel, I do it this way.

This is the model (coefficients in bold): C = (Co-D) * e^(-k*t)

I set the starting values from the parameters

D1
k1

These are are my observations and my calculated C.

CotC - observedC -calculated
1030.459E-05
3030.022E-13
6030.062E-26

I then calculate the sum square difference between the observed and calculated C values using the SUMXMY2 formula in Excel

SSD

Then I use the Solver to minimize the SSD by changing D and k. That literally takes seconds to do, and I get the best fit parameters for my dataset. How can this be done in Alteryx. I uploaded an example.

10件の返信10
Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@Josh_Metro 
The difficult part is the GRG Non-linear solver. 😁

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @Josh_Metro 

As @Qiu alluded to, it's easy to do in Excel, because all the complexity is hidden from you by being wrapped up in the  Solver add-in.    

The closest tool equivalent in Alteryx is the Optimization tool.  Unfortunately, I don't know enough about the GRG algorithm to be able to say if any of the available Optimizer options will produce the same output that you see in Excel.

Dan

Josh_Metro
メテオール

Thanks, Dan. I played around with the optimization tool, but I couldn't make it do the same thing. It's possible I just don't know how to use it.

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

@Josh_Metro 

There's a very thorough example here

Dan  

Josh_Metro
メテオール

Thanks, again, Dan. I did read that previously, but I couldn't figure out how to apply it to my use case.

Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@Josh_Metro