Oh no! The Community appears to be haunted! Help us find all the spooky specters here.
We are currently experiencing an issue with Email verification at this time and working towards a solution. Should you encounter this issue, please click on the "Send Verification Button" a second time and the request should go through. If the issue still persists for you, please email support@alteryx.com for assistance.

Alteryx Designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.

Input data from Alteryx into Word Document Template

ACarr116
5 - Atom

Hi All, this is my first time posting so please forgive me if I'm in the wrong spot.

I am trying to input the data from my Alteryx model into a pre-designed/populated Word document.

My current model takes the results, and creates a separate word document for each row of data, but I'd like to be able to go one step further and have it drop the cell contents into a specific part of an already generated/ designed template in Word.

Does any one have any thoughts/ ideas that might work?

2 REPLIES 2
patrick_mcauliffe
14 - Magnetar
14 - Magnetar

@ACarr116just to clarify, when you refer to a "Word document", you mean the one with file extension .docx?  Or does it just need to be a text document that Word can open?

The easiest way I've found to do something similar is by creating variables in a txt.  Sometimes you can get a .doc to work if there aren't any rich text features (coloring, special symbols, etc).

The hardest part you'll run into on any of these is selecting the right code page.  That's mostly why I avoid .docx.

For example, let's say you wanted to replace text to batch create a dozen forms for individuals based on a data set you have about them.

In this case, let's use a resume as an example.

Here's our template .txt document:

patrick_mcauliffe_0-1576942540227.png

Our incoming data set looks like this:

patrick_mcauliffe_2-1576942986024.png