Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Example of how to allow user to browse for an Excel file and then load specific worksheet

PabloDanielovich
7 - Meteor

I'm a newbie, and so far I like a lot of things about Alteryx, but I'm missing something... something isn't clicking just yet.  I couldn't find an example that shows how to do this simple task (samples I did find were either too complex or too different from what I'm trying to do. 
All I want at this point is to allow the user to select an excel file (I'm using the File Browse tool with the Arbitrary File Specification of *.xlsx), and then trying to use the Input Data tool to open the sheet named "Master Table" in that file.  The Data Input tool shows the error "A file must be specified".  how do I pass the Path, Filename and Worksheet name to the Data Input tool?

13 REPLIES 13
Shade
6 - Meteoroid

This is good start. But if sheet name is not same as written in Text Input tool you will get an error. So my question is... If that happens I would like to offer user a Drop Down menu to select one of the sheet from the same .xslx file.

Specifically for me... I have .xslx input file that consists of 3 sheets with different sheet names and form of table. I have made alteryx workflow which transfers that data in single output file. I am now trying to make an app. And I would like that app has an option, so that user can choose from sheets that are in the .xslx file, if order of the sheets in file changes in the future(which is probable). Thx in advance!

varunamin
8 - Asteroid

Hi Kanderson,

I am unable to get the output. The workflow runs without error but no output.

Can you please help.

anotherusername
8 - Asteroid

Hi Varunamin - you've probably solved this already, but for other confused users out there if they're new to apps (like I was until this morning), a couple of things: