Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Multi Field Or Multi Row Formula - Help

LewisS180592
5 - Atom

Hi 

I'm new to using both of these tools & can't quite find the answer i need

In the example below, I need a simple formula to find the difference in the *Value* in line 2 from line 1 & then Line 3 from line 1 & into a new column.

Another element to this problem would be to create a formula which is dynamic to the number of rows within the workflow. In one run there may be 5 line items but in the next there could be 20. Any help on this would be much appreciated.

Thank You!

NameValueLocationConcatenate Join
A117.7LeatherheadDriving - Kms
B135BlueFin Driving - Kms
C116.3SloughDriving - Kms

6 REPLIES 6
jdminton
12 - Quasar

I would actually not use the multirow tool for this. I would use a summarize and append fields (or join if needed) to bring in the first value to use in a regular formula tool. See attached workflow.

Snag_23a93e8c.png

ChrisTX
15 - Aurora

Your sample data seems to include only one "group", where every calculation uses the first row.  Will your actual data have more "groups", where a calculation may need to use a different row number?  Would the field [Concatenate Join] be the unique "group" indicator?

I'm thinking about a Tile tool to assign a 1,2,3,etc to each group, then break the data stream into two streams, then a Join tool, then Formula tool.

Chris

LewisS180592
5 - Atom

You are exactly right - This dataset was showing for only one person but could be any amount going forward.

Would this change your outline above at all?

Thanks

Person ReferenceNameValueLocationConcatenate Join
1A117.7LeatherheadDriving - Kms
1B135BlueFin Driving - Kms
1C116.3SloughDriving - Kms
2A112.4LeatherheadDriving - Kms
2B129.8BlueFin Driving - Kms
2C111.1SloughDriving - Kms
jdminton
12 - Quasar