Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Help with filtering records that lie between first day and last day of month

kimc745
8 - Asteroid

Hi All,

I have to filter out records from a data set to capture only those that occurred within the month.  given that some months are 28, 29, 30 and 31, how do I write something that will filter out all records that aren't within a given month. I have Designer Desktop only.

To add complexity, the reporting is in arrears, so I will be running March data in April. - being able to select which month is okay too, while manual, it is one setting which isn't terrible.

Additional complexity, as a variation on the Month, I need to run quarterly as well for the records within the quarter. 

I have no experience with macros whatsoever so if there is a way that this can be accomplished without manual intervention (monthly) that would be great.  I am using a directory file read in to select the most current file in the directory based upon creation date as the files will be named with a date suffix; however, that has been known to change format thus the creation date in descending sort order is used

I'd like to share the file; however, there is company info so the best I can do is describe the condition I am trying to solve for. I appreciate any assistance or guidance.

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
binuacs
20 - Arcturus

@kimc745 use the DateTimeFirstofMonth() an DateTimeLAstOfMonth() functions to calculate first and last of the month

image.png

kimc745
8 - Asteroid