Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Generate multiple output excels on a existing excel

yc151
7 - Meteor

hi, all.

I have a quick questions. i have a existing master template excel with tab 1, tab 2 contains data (with excel formulas). Right now I have a workflow to produce multiple output excel files to populate tab 3 data. The output  files have unique tab name and unique excel file name. My questions is how do I have Alteryx generate the output files on the existing template excel? Or How do I add the master template tabs on those output excel files.  Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
Qiu
21 - Polaris
21 - Polaris

@yc151 
Just my experience for your reference.

• The formula in your template must be outside of range for Data to be output. otherwise it will be overwriten.
  • Run Command Tool may be used to copy the template Tab to a New tab.
  • Block until done tool maybe is necessary to control the output sequence, to prevent the target file being locked.
MichelleL
Alteryx
Alteryx

@yc151 I think all you need to do in the Output tool is choose the existing Filename & create a new tab name.  It'll give you a warning that the file already exists and do you want to overwrite it, say 'yes'.  Then, on the Specify a Sheet pop-up, enter your new tab name.  And finally, make sure "Create New Sheet" option is chosen in the configuration panel.  You do NOT want "Overwrite File".

MichelleL_0-1645078782755.png

Test it out & let me know if this works for you!

yc151
7 - Meteor