Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Find and Replace - Multiple Columns

lynnekilgore
7 - Meteor

Hello, my apologies if this is a duplicate; the discussion board was giving me an error and told me to start over.

I am seeking help with building a non-RegEx involved workflow (because I'm a beginner) that allows me to "mask" client IDs and client names in a given record by replacing them with a number. Two text columns need replacements: Desc_1_FT and Desc_2_NBI (see attached), and the value to replace them with is found in Generic_ID.

Conceptually I know what I'm trying to do but I just can't get the Find and Replace in my own workflow to run correctly, so I'm glad to start from scratch if anyone can help.

Thank you!

8 REPLIES 8
Raj
14 - Magnetar

@lynnekilgore this client X remains same always or you have a unique code for each client?
also you want to remove the Bracket which is at last?

lynnekilgore
7 - Meteor

Hi Raj, the unique code is found in the Generic_ID column. There shouldn't be any duplicates as the Generic_ID is linked to a single matter. I'm unsure of what you mean by removing the Bracket. 

Raj
14 - Magnetar

ok Got your point

Raj
14 - Magnetar

@lynnekilgore find attached sol.

Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@lynnekilgore 
For multiple column replacement, we can always use the combination of Transpose and CrossTab to do the work.
and for client matter ID, I assume it alwasy starts from "(".

0217-lynnekilgore.png

Raj
14 - Magnetar

@lynnekilgore what i wanted to confirm is this attached sol for removing the last part>
this will work for you

please like and mark as accepted solution if this solves your problem.

lynnekilgore
7 - Meteor