Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Filter and remove data

TNShan
8 - Asteroid

Hi, I'm relatively new to Alteryx and I'm reaching out for assistance with the following dataset.

I have a dataset that requires specific filtering for the 'Address' column. I'm looking to exclude entries that start with alphabetic characters (A-Z). Additionally, for entries that begin with a numeric value followed by text, I'd like to eliminate the numeric portion, retaining only the text part. Lastly, for entries that are either pure numbers or start with '#', I'd like to remove those entirely, resulting in a 'null' column.

Once these filtering steps are completed, I aim to reassemble the dataset by merging back the previously filtered entries (data start with alphabetic characters). Hope the outcome will same as 'New_Address'. May I know what is the formula/flow that can be used in my case?

Your guidance and support would be greatly appreciated.

AddressNew_Address
#03-204 
22 DUNEARN ROADDUNEARN ROAD
989 BUKIT TIMAH ROADBUKIT TIMAH ROAD
ADAM ROADADAM ROAD
COMPASSVALE DRIVECOMPASSVALE DRIVE
WOODLANDS STREET 13WOODLANDS STREET 13
8 REPLIES 8
flying008
14 - Magnetar

Hi, @TNShan 

FYI.

IF REGEX_Match([Address], '\d+') || StartsWith([Address], '#') 
THEN Null() 
ELSEIF REGEX_Match([Address], '^\d+\D+$') 
THEN Trim(REGEX_Replace([Address], '^\d+', ''))
ELSEIF REGEX_Match([Address], '^[A-Z]+.*') 
THEN [Address] 
ELSE Null() 
ENDIF

录制_2023_08_23_10_47_18_118.gif

TNShan
8 - Asteroid