Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Drop down list not working

roosechua
6 - Meteoroid

Hi,

I am a beginner in Alteryx Designer, and I what I am trying to do is to provide a drop down list interface, using one of my table's column.

I have 3 columns: Record ID, Location and Status in my table. What I am trying to achieve is use the Location in the drop down interface, after filtering only Closed records, and using the selected Location to finally filter my output. It seems to be working fine until the drop down interface, but the filter tool after that does not seem to extract the proper value that I want. 

I have looked for similar solutions here in the community, and found this. However, I am not sure why mine is still not working when logically, my workflow seems to be correct. Can someone help me to understand what is wrong in my workflow?

Appreciate the help in advance! Thank you!

10 REPLIES 10
PhilipMannering
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hi @roosechua . Your workflow seems to be working fine. What "proper value" do you want? 

PhilipMannering_0-1633274222329.png

apathetichell
18 - Pollux

hypothetical question - in your real data are there spaces (or other special characters)  in the Location value column you are using  in your Drop Down?

If so you you should put recordid as your column name/location as your value - then feed it into a dynamic replace set to first row contains fieldnames and the into the dropdown.

When you crosstab in the name some characters become underscores - and you should see this in your dropdown. It won't work with your filter though because "Location_A" and "Location A" are not the same...

roosechua
6 - Meteoroid

@PhilipMannering , thanks for taking a look into this.

This is the result that I would like to see, but somehow when I run it from my end, I am not getting this same result. I am getting this instead.