Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Creating a Drill Down Table Structure in Alteryx

jerry239
8 - Asteroid

Hello

I am new to Alteryx and just started learning it. I am trying to build a Drill Down Table Structure in Tableau through following below link:

https://www.phdata.io/blog/how-to-create-a-drill-down-table-in-tableau/

I successfully built it in Tableau but I am facing few but important limitation challenges in Tableau. So thinking if I can build an Alteryx workflow for the same which could help me in overcoming my challenges. The only difference between above information and my visualization is that I have textual data which like paragraphs. This data is shown in Quarterly manner which means I have different quarter columns instead of one single column in the paper.

Also, there can be a situation that my Level 3 could have more than one paragraph. I want to be able to give conditional color formatting to my paragraphs in a single cell.

Secondly, I need to attach few symbols at the start of my paragraph in Tableau

Lastly, I need my cells to have fit width capability so then long paragraphs would have bigger space as compared to others

can someone please help me in knowing if this is possible with the help of Alteryx and please guide me in building a workflow?

32 REPLIES 32
jerry239
8 - Asteroid

Hello @caltang 

I did some Google and followed your guidance. After that I was able to fetch my data to Tableau Hyper from render tool. The problem is that the only Excel extension it was supporting is 'xlsx' and not 'xls'. Also, there seems to be missing data in Tableau Hyper file. I needed my quarters in one field which could be made dynamic as per the dates availability but right now all the fields are coming differently.

The output wasn't giving me multiple random statements against one single cell Product line.