Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Creating a Batch Macro for Multi-Column Data Processing and Aggregation in Alteryx

parth_t
5 - Atom

Hey Alteryx community!

I appreciate any suggestion, solutions and answers in advance.

I have a workflow to process multiple column - Transform (Group and aggregate), Cross Tab (Group category, status as column header and aggregate as values for new columns). I need to do this for multiple columns, in the test workflow attached I have done this for 4 columns. Whereas in the actual dataset there are many more columns, and the column list could expand. Further I filter each category to remove null values before appending all four summaries into one dataset.

• Please see the attached workflow for additional context.

I have started learning macros, and I am pretty new to them. I was wondering if there is a potential solution to achieve this using batch or iterative macro as the nature of this process is repetitive. 

One potential solution I found to create a text input list with the names of all of the columns that needs to be processed through the macro. But I keep hitting roadblocks due to lack of experience with macros. 

Any advise would be great!

Capture.JPG

3 REPLIES 3
SPetrie
12 - Quasar

You can get the same solution without a batch macro, although it is able to be solved with one. The easier method is to transpose your data before summarizing it so that everything is in a singular column.

transpose.PNG

We can workup a batch macro if you want to play with one, but I think simpler is better in this case.

parth_t
5 - Atom

Hey, This is fantastic! Simple solutions are always the best ones. It also takes in account for any additional columns added to the dataset.