Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Browse tool and Connection Progress

Alteryxuserhere
8 - Asteroid

Hi All

I'm new to Alteryx and I'm wondering how do I get the browse tool to display all data from the input tool? The reason for this is I'm not sure how much data is it extracting and therefore when I use Join and Union tools, I can't verify if the results are valid or not.

I tried setting the Connection Progress to be always show in Canvas settings, but it doesn't always show.

Any solutions to this?

Thanks all

6 REPLIES 6
AndrewDMerrill
13 - Pulsar

If there is too much data to display, then a sample will be displayed. That being said. All available data should be going through each tool. You can look at the record count in the result pane to verify that all data is being passed through and around properly:

Screenshot.png

For logic verification, you can create representative test samples that capture all possible cases within you data (which should be small enough to view all of) with the Text Input Tool. Then all you need to do is follow the workflow and make sure everything is working well before pulling in main data from data source.

Alteryxuserhere
8 - Asteroid

Thanks for your prompt reply.

Mine gets capped at 2000. How do I remove this limit? Can you also elaborate how I can use the Text Input tool?

AndrewDMerrill
13 - Pulsar

That's not a cap, that's all the records/rows that made it to the Browse Tool (Or output anchor, depending on what you're viewing). Where are you pulling data from and how? Check your data source. If you have a Browse Tool connected directly to an Input Tool, then those 2000 records are all the records that the Input Tool is getting from the data source (barring some crazy bug, which is unlikely)