Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Alteryx Joins

AhanaR
7 - Meteor

Hi All,

I'm very new to alteryx and have been trying to build a workflow connecting 2 excel files.

I would want to look up data from 2 files and combine it with the master data. could someone tell me how that's done in alteryx?

This is how the fields in my master file look :

AhanaR_2-1677162415106.png

This is my 2nd file :

AhanaR_3-1677162432086.png

The first string value in the doct_ID_Item field from the master file without leading zeros is identical to the document ID field in the second file. In excel, I write a lookup formula to get the below-desired output. how can I do this in Alteryx?

Desired Output is :

AhanaR_4-1677162522309.png

8 REPLIES 8
ShankerV
17 - Castor

Hi @AhanaR 

One way of doing this.

ShankerV_0-1677163733534.png

Note: Please input the dataset replacing the text input tool for the expected output.

apathetichell
18 - Pollux

I'd use record id (for a primary to key), Text to columns and split on | (to rows) , and then make sure I got rid of trailing/leading spaces (datacleanse can do this) - then I'd join.

@ShankerV has another way - which is awesome, but might be a bit harder to adjust/replicate as needed. 

RobertOdera
13 - Pulsar

Hi, @AhanaR 

Kindly consider providing sample tables we can copy-paste, excel, or text files.

Otherwise, the community has to re-create your samples before offering how-to solutions for you to consider - Cheers!

In the meantime:

-For table 1: use the parse out doct_ID_Item on the delimiter = pipe | into two columns A, B (leave extra in the last column)

-Using the Join tool, Inner Join table 1 to table 2 on table 1 A == table 2 document ID, deselect duplicates in the join tool options

-Looks like you are only interested in the results out of the J node of the join tool

Cheers!

AhanaR
7 - Meteor

Hi Shekar,