Alter.Nation

Community news, customer stories, and more!
MeganDibble
Alteryx Community Team
Alteryx Community Team

If you had told me five years ago that I should build my professional brand, I might have rolled my eyes. I’m a new college grad, not an influencer, I would have thought.

Here’s my story in a nutshell: After graduating from college with an industrial engineering degree, I went to work in technical consulting. That job wasn’t a good fit for me, and I realized I wanted to move into the data field since I enjoyed every project I worked on that involved data analysis. While upskilling through a 6-month data science course, I started writing about what I was learning and posting on LinkedIn.

Fast forward 4 years, and those articles I wrote along with my posts on LinkedIn helped me land two jobs, opportunities to freelance, a guest spot on a podcast, lots of new connections in my professional network, and more.

What started as a writing hobby turned into building my professional brand, and I’m so happy it did! In this article, I will share what I have learned along the way.

My main platforms have been Medium, LinkedIn, and the Maveryx Community. However, my goal here is to share tips for building your brand that apply to any platform.

Design Your Profile

Your profile page is a snapshot of who you are, so it’s best practice to customize it, adding the details necessary for future employers and connections to get to know you.

1.png

Add your photo

LinkedIn’s research shows that “just having a picture makes your profile 14 times more likely to be viewed by others.” [1] No matter what platform you are on, having a photo creates trust that you are a real person and could help people remember you if you are on the job hunt.

Write a bio