Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Iterating through a range of dates

feedsoal
6 - Meteoroid

Hello!

I'm new to Alteryx and I'm translating some code from ACL Analytics to Alteryx workflows.

Here is the issue:

I need to iterate over a range of dates to perform some tests with given conditions, and I'm pretty confused on how exactly I can do it with iterative macros.

I wrote some piece of code using R just to represent the kind of iteration I need.

library(lubridate)

# User Input
start_date <- ym("201401")

# User Input
end_date <- ym("202009")

# Variables
var_date <- add_with_rollback(start_date,months(-1))
var_date_end <- end_date

# While Loop
while(var_date < var_date_end){
  var_date <- add_with_rollback(var_date,months(1))
  print(var_date)
}

And this is the output:

[1] "2014-01-01"
[1] "2014-02-01"
[1] "2014-03-01"
[1] "2014-04-01"
[1] "2014-05-01"
[1] "2020-06-01"
[1] "2020-07-01"
[1] "2020-08-01"
[1] "2020-09-01"

Basically, I just want to guarantee that in each iteration, my tests will be performed considering 201401 first, then 201402, until 202009. Is iterative macro the way? How?

Unfortunately I couldn't find the help I need with Alteryx videos only.

Additionally, I could "almost" find a way using generate row tool, but it would turn my dataset with 7,000,000 lines to a monstrous dataset with 500,000,000+ lines.

Thank you! 

4 REPLIES 4
PhilipMannering
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hey @feedsoal 

Best way is using the multi-row.

See attached.

PhilipMannering_0-1605633319235.png

P

feedsoal
6 - Meteoroid

Thank you for the reply!

Well, I notice how the flow works in your example. But, how it will be stored in my "var_date" variable until the process is complete?