Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Consecutive dates until condition is met

K_tina
6 - Meteoroid

Hi, I am new to Alteryx and would like to perform the following data manipulation. Any help is appreciated.

Sample of my data below. I need to add the number of days in “Buffer” to “Date” and stop the logic when “Flag” is marked as 1. I.e. no more calculations to be done after the first Flag = 1 is encountered.

How can I do a “loop” in Alteryx?

Thanks

IMG-20221219-WA0004.jpg

9 REPLIES 9
Adrian_T
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hey @K_tina,

This can be achieved using the DateTimeAdd Function and conditional statement in a Multi-Row Formula Tool. This thread (LINK) should give you a good idea of how to achieve this.

Hope this helps!

DataNath
17 - Castor

Interesting with the flag added in @K_tina - I've just added a running total to identify where the flag starts and then after that, used a formula to add the days if the flag hasn't yet been reached i.e. has a value of 0:

DataNath_0-1671463573419.png

DataNath_1-1671463582400.png

The Formula expression here may look a little crazy. That's because your incoming date is in dd/mm/yyyy format which Alteryx can't deal with, therefore we need to parse it out into ISO format (yyyy-mm-dd) so we can use DateTime functions on the result. I've then wrapped it in DateTimeFunction to return to your original format. The final select simply removes the temporary running total field that was used for the buffer logic.

K_tina
6 - Meteoroid

Okay thanks i will go check it out, thanks for the quick and comprehensive responses!

DavidSkaife
13 - Pulsar

Hi @K_tina 

Here is one way of doing it:

DavidSkaife_0-1671463768671.png