community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.

Chained apps: Return to the previous app

Atom

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to alteryx and I'm developing a data extract tool.

I have already built the tool with 5 chained apps, however, I am not able to create an interface or action that will let the user go back to the previous apps in case he needs to revise the filters he selected.

I have 4 levels of filters, see below. These are dynamically pulled from a database.

ZONEREGIONSUBREGIONCOUNTRY
China OperationsChinaChinaCN
China OperationsChinaHong Kong And MacauHK
Europe OperationsCentral And Eastern EuropeAustria And SwitzerlandAT
Europe OperationsCentral And Eastern EuropeAustria And SwitzerlandCH
Europe OperationsCentral And Eastern EuropeBenelux And Israel

BE

Below is a screen shot which is already at the level 2 filter (region). I want to be able to go back and forth the apps. Please provide solutions or any workaround.

Capture.JPG

Alteryx Certified Partner

This is theoretical...

At the end of an application, the next chained app is MENU.

MENU will call  NEXT.yxwz as the next application and based upon the selection, you must WRITE the XML for NEXT to basically continue to the next application where you updated the XML

<Wiz_ChainRunWizard>Do this step now.yxwz<Dependencies><Implicit /><Dependencies></Wiz_ChainRunWizard>

Maybe it could work...

Cheers,

Mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and reboot. Order shall return.

Hi @ccabarle,

Unfortunately, there's not a way (that I've found at least) to tell a chained app to go back a step. You can potentially add some type of option that would ask the same question again within the current chain running, but that just seems like a slippery slope... I wouldn't suggest attempting it.

I'd suggest submitting this as an idea!

Product Ideas